FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
My CVS results showed Trisomy 9 mosaicism

mamanathan
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like

My CVS results showed Trisomy 9 mosaicism

Hello everyone. I am new and this is my first time posting. I hope this is the right place to post.

I am 30 years old and currently pregnant. I had a CVS done last month because my only child has a chromosomal deletion 22q11.2. Hubby and I got tested to see if we are carriers for the deletion and it came back negative. Sadly ours was just a fluke. We have been so scared to try for another baby but after 3 years we decided it was time.

Well the first set of results (FISH) came back normal. Fish test for 22q11.2 also came back normal. However I got a call a week later that out of 20 cells tested, 18 were normal and 2 cells has an additional chromosome 9 (Trisomy 9 mosaicism).

To say we were devastated is an understatement. I have been to hell and back for the last 3 weeks. A part of me has unconsciously turned off my pregnancy. I no longer feel pregnant and am severely depressed.

To have a chromosomal abnormality the second time again seems like I am the unluckiest person in the world. My last ultrasound at 12 weeks was normal. NT was normal. I did not do the screening tests because I did my CVS before 12 weeks and already knew my results.

My genetic counselor advised I get an amnio after 16 weeks. I'll be getting one in 9 days to determine if the baby is affected or if the mosaic cells are confined to the placenta (CONFINED PLACENTAL MOSAICISM). She also went on to say that if the amnio is negative, it's not a guarantee the baby does not have Trisomy 9 mosaicim.

I feel so confused and scared. There are days I have so much hope and faith that my baby girl will be just fine but as the days go by, that hope diminishes.