FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Nervous about discontinuing meds

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    tk87
    is 34 weeks pregnant!

Post Thanks / Like

Smile Nervous about discontinuing meds

Hi, I am a newbie to the pregnancy forum. I'll briefly tell you my story:

I don't ovulate on my own and no doctor ever figured out why (it's not PCOS). My husband did not want to be tested. We tried Clomid, etc. for a while with a regular OB/GYN. My body did not respond at all. We then went to an RE and did Gonal-F injections (without IUI or IVF) and conceived our son, who is now 3 years 9 months old. Soon after our son's second birthday, we decided to go back to the RE to try for baby # 2. We tried Gonal-F for a few cycles - kept getting BFN's. We tried Repronex for a few cycles - still BFN's. We decided to do Repronex with IUI. On the day of IUI, my RE said my husband's count, morphology, etc. was very low. Needless to say, we got a BFN that cycle.

We then moved on to IVF with ICSI. Our first IVF cycle, we got a BFP and we were thrilled! Sadly, five days later, hcg was down to 0, indicating a very early m/c. We felt so defeated after all that we had been through - the highs and the lows, and to have to start all over again. Our second IVF cycle, we got a BFP but we were scared to be happy, to hope, to dream. Thank G-d, my hcg level continued to climb. When my RE was satisfied that all is well, he sent me off to a regular OB.

I am now 13 weeks and my OB said that I can definitely discontinue my PIO injections and estradiol (oral). He is an excellent OB with the best reputation and so I trust him. At the same time, I'm nervous to stop taking the meds. I hope everything will be ok without it. I guess I'm just looking for some reassurance, stories of success, etc.

2. Advertisement

SC-Impatient_in_VA
    *ments* Baby pic in album
    Site Coordinator
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    Tired