FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Vasectomy at 19?

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    JessesGirl2022
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like

Vasectomy at 19?

Newbie here- i hope this is the right forum for this post- ( if its not or someone knows of a different forum that would be better for my issue please let me know id very much appreciate it Anyhow, well here goes.... Im Julie im 39 years old and i have a son who is almost 20 years old who came to me today and told me that he has an appointment (already scheduled for this coming July with a doctor who's already agreed to do this for him) to have a vasectomy. He doesnt have any kids, and although i understand that some people really just dont want children and that its his personal choice to make for his life if he wants to do so.....I just CAN'T get past the fact that hes making this kind of decision at the young age of 19. Really i can't believe that a doctor would even DO a vasectomy on someone his age but regardless it is what it is. I know that vasectomys are supposed to be "reversible" also but i also read that it doesnt always work (reversal). I dont know WHY exactly he feels the need to do this surgery so soon, but he was super defensive right off the bat when i tried to talk to him about that- which means (knowing my son) that im not going to get an answer for that question out of him no matter how hard i might try and if i continue to push it we will just end up fighting about it. With ALL that said, i was wondering if there is anyone on this forum close to my son's age (or at least WAS when they had the surgery) that has gone through with a vasectomy so young and just how you feel about it now? Or maybe one of you KNOWS someone in a similar situation that you wouldn't mind just asking if they were still good with their decision after a few years? Idk just ANY advice pertaining to this would really be helpful right now for me. Eve