FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Egg donation as an option

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    DonnyM
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like

Egg donation as an option

Hi everyone!

I am very new to infertility treatments, especially to ART. I'm 48 years old and my husband is 49. We have no children, but there was a period (I was 44) when we were trying to conceive. As you understand, with no results. Now I often ask myself, why we have been waiting for this decision for a so long time, till the moment when we almost have no chances. I truly believed that 44 years was not too old, but the medicine says, that it is too late for me. I and my husband both want to be parents, but when I started a discussion about adoption, he refused this option. He wanted his biological child, but not non-bio. Some time passed and I was advised egg donation. I was consulted and the doctor says that it is possible for me to bear a child despite my age. It was the amazing news! What should I expect?

2. Advertisement

SC-Faith32
    happily busy :)
    Administrator
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    Happy
    So you are planning to use donated embryo or egg, correct? If so, then you will likely be on birth control for a month or so (or sometimes they do skip this step), once lab work confirms your hormone levels are low, you will start prepping your lining for transfer. You will be on Estrogen supplements for about 2 weeks and then will start progesterone right before transfer. You will have a few ultrasounds and lab work in this process to make sure the lining is optimal and your hormones are cooperating. All in all it is a simple process, once you have agreed on an egg/embryo and have that process complete.
    Me-36 (endo 2002), DH-42 (perfect)
    DS (adopted 2004)
    Many IUI- bfn

IVF#1-4 (2 bfn's 2 chemical's)
    IVF#5 13 ret, 12 mat, 11 fert, 8 biopsy'd = 6 normal frozen for FET
    May 13 FET-BFP- m/c @ 6 weeks