FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Etiquette help please

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Nancy G
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Etiquette help please

Hello Ladies!

I frequent the GP board, this is my first time here. I have a question and I was looking for some honest answers.

I teach Parent/Child classes at a gymnastics facilty (love my job!!!). Starting in January I will be teaching a babies class that begins at age 4 months. I realize many moms in my class may be breastfeeding. Our gym is very wide open, no private areas whatsoever, except the bathroom, but that is an unacceptable place to feed a baby, IMO.

If during the class (45 minutes long) one of my moms needs to feed her child, how do I make her feel comfortable? She is more than welcome to do it anywhere she wants in the gym, but there is very little privacy or even chairs (they are in the lobby). I was thinking I could stand up and angle one of our rainbow mats near a wall and she could have a little "cubby" for privacy? She could also sit on one of our softer mats in the gym? Because the babies are so young, there will not be a lot of action in the gym (no kids running, bumping in her).

How can I accomodate without insulting or making her feel awkward? The parent/child gym experience is so precious and sweet, I do not want to taint the nurturing envirnoment I work so hard to maintain.

Can you tell I did not breastfeed?? LOL I have so many questions and want to be sensitive.

Thank you for your help!
    Nancy G

DD 8 years old
    DS 5 years old

2. Advertisement

flicka7
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    How nice of you to accomodate them!!! I think a little cubby would be awesome. I was recently at a childrens museum and they had a small 2 piece wall in the corner with a chair behind it.