FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Pumping Question, new here

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    whisper
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like

Question Pumping Question, new here

Hi everyone! It is my first time visiting this board and I feel thankful that I found it! I just had my second son five days ago. I was nursing him in the hospital with supplements. Things were fine and I was using a nipple shield as it was hard to latch...those things are great by the way!

I have decided that I am just going to pump all of my milk. The reason I have decided on this is because I was feeding him and then he still wanted more, so it was like this: breast, bottle, more bottle, then breast again. So, I decided that if he was going to have a bottle anyway, I might as well just express my milk and give him one bottle. Besides, I like knowing how much he is getting.

So, now to my question...

I am pumping after every feed. Today everytime I pumped I got 4 ounces. Will that just keep increasing? Or do you think that is the peak I will pump? If it the peak, how can I increase? I would love to be able to pump 8 ounces a pumping session...any thoughts or advice would so greatly be appreciated.

Thanks so much...gotta go pump!!

2. Advertisement

ClaireNola
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    I know everyone is different. I have only once or twice gotten as much as 8 oz in one pumping session. I consider myself lucky to get 4!! That's really a lot if it's after baby has already eaten.

Good luck to you!!

p.s. I pumped exclusively for dd #1 from 3 months of age until 8mo. I did 6 or 7 pumping sessions a day, though. Phew! Hard work, but worth it of course. Always had enough to feed her and plenty in the freezer too.

StaceyTX
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    First off, congrats on your baby!!!