FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
We are now the owners of an Epi Pen Jr!

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Louisette
    got accepted into the Family Nurse Practitioner Program for Graduate School starting Fall '11

Post Thanks / Like

We are now the owners of an Epi Pen Jr!

Maybe you remember me posting about Hunter's allergic reaction in July to Eggplant. It happened within 2 minutes. I turned my head away and next time I looked he was red as a cherry tomato on his face with lips that were swelling. I didn't have any Benadryl, why? Because I don't have allergies. I think the only time I used it was when the dog got stung in the eye! So much for being prepared, and I'm a Nurse!

Well, it happened again last week and this time it was fresh tomatoes. He has had sauce before so I never even dreamed it would happen with, of all things this. He was again bright red with his lips looking like those of Mick Jaggar! Poor thing but at least I had the benedryl!!

I ended up bringing him to the Ped's office because he started to drool profusely and I was concerned. They zipped us thru right away, and things seemed to quiet down.

We went to the Allergist today and will await blood testing. But now I have this Epinepherine Pen that I just take the top off and jab it into his thigh if it happens again. I can't wait for the babysitters reaction. She won't be feeding him ANYTHING!

My poor little guy...

2. Advertisement

DDVMM
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    My Mood
    Tired
    We have one too for my DD#2 - she has a lot of insect allergies. I carry it everywhere.
    Let us know what the allergy blood test shows. Have you given him peanut butter yet? Just curious...
    DD 9/99 DD 3/01 DS 12/03 DD 7/08
    Thyroid Cancer SurvivorSurvivingSTRONG!!

Louisette