FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Looking for a Fertility Doctor? 855-491-2833

lleva99
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

How long does a fresh semen sample stay viable?Please help!!!

Our daughters bmom has offered to be a traditional surrogate for us and we are going to ask dd's bdad to be a sperm donor. We are wondering about in-home insemination and how long the sperm is good for. I'm really new to all of this so these questions are going to sound stupid...I read to do the insemination on day of LH surge and the day after. How long after the fresh semen sample is given should the insemination take place? How long is the semen good for? Can you refrigerate or freeze until the next day? Or can you just do it a few hours later? Like I said, I'm completely clueless! Does the turkey baster method work or do the cervical caps and things work better? Any advice would be very much appreciated!!!
    me 29 dh 34
    dd 9/4/04
    ds 11/13/06
    Savanna - Yorkshire Terrier
    Charlie - Lab/Golden Retriever

2. Advertisement

andika
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    NO dont refrigerate the sperm! That will kill it! YOu have to keep it at body temperature. If you get the sample at home clinics allow that only if you live 30 minutes max. from the clinic. Sperm is good for several hours, but insemination happens only after the sperm is "washed" which takes a while too. so its doable, but only if you live close by. just stick the sterile cup with the sperm in your bra, or hold it in your handbut dont put it in the fridge! Good luck!
    38/PCOS, 48/MF
    IUI,IVF#1,2,FET#1-5 BFN#3 m/c@5w#4,NT2.6mm,CVS:t21,13w2d d&c06/20/'06,FET#6BFN,#5ß:208,1332,7w6d & bl.ov,38w5d7-23-'07 :Samuel Eliezer Jonah ,TTC#2:IVF#1-3 BFN #4BFP!b #1 32,#2 65,#3 178 u/s 6w2d, @37w1d 5-26-'10 Ariel Jayden Chaim TTC#3 FET 2 blasts BFP!#1:85 #2:197,6w6d m/c IVF#1(0) bfp!b#1 323,#2 850 edd 10/09/'12

BC-Sirell