FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Looking for a Fertility Doctor? 855-996-7283

Lauren2005
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like

Metformin and hunger?

Hi ladies,

I am new to my PCOS dx (although not new to IF, thanks to my endo! ) I was prescribed Metformin. I don't have insulin issues and am quite a thin person (and I ovulate on my own) ...but I do understand the statistics about m/c prevention so I know why I'm on Met.

I just took my first pill at breakfast today.

My question is: Does Met take your appetite away? I ate a large breakfast (same as usual), took the Met, and basically haven't been hungry for the rest of the day. It's really troubling me. I had deviled eggs and carrot chips for lunch (that's it!) and a banana and a seaweed strip for dinner. Like the kind you'd wrap sushi inside, except without the sushi. I can't believe I'm not hungry. Or thirsty, actually. It's like the whole sensation has gone away.

In a week, I'm supposed to double the dose! Just wondering if this effect goes away. I had heard that some women lose quite a bit of weight on Met. Is this why? Also, I read that Met can give you nausea and all kinds of other discomforts. Maybe this is my body sensing that food would make it sick?

Anyway, I'd be grateful for anyone's comments about Met.

Thanks,
    Lauren

P.S. I've been reading people's posts about low-carb diets while on Met. My doctor didn't say a thing to me about diet changes. Does anyone have any particular suggestions, diet-wise, as to what has worked for you?
    Last edited by Lauren2005; 09-08-2005 at 01:17 AM.

2. Advertisement

Paula_in_DE
    is winter over yet?
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    My Mood
    Cynical
    I'm 5"4" and 123 lbs. and was just dx IR a week ago. I was dx PCOS in 2000. I don't believe weight problems have to be present for IR to be.