FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Looking for a Fertility Doctor? 855-491-2833

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    JulieB2
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like

Ugh...I can't stand lazy people...especially in my line of work!

As a hospice nurse, I'm constantly on the run during the week. Patients needs, facility needs, family needs fill my day.

At 445pm I get a call about one of my patients, declining. I already knew this, but instead of sending the oncall nurse (said lazy person) I went. I am off at 5, but just felt like I needed to go. The family was there and in distress.

I get there, learn this oncall nurse had an admission. I figured, well OK I'll sit with the family, started crisis care, cuz indeed my little guy was actively dying.

Had lots of emotional support and education moments with the family, got new orders for my guy, started the paperwork. Said lazy nurse calls me and says, oh...did you find anyone to cover the shifts. uhhhh EXCUSE me...thats YOUR job sister, I'm doing your job as well.

Then she says.... "well i suppose i should get dressed and get my stuff and come on over......with a long drawn out sigh".....

I swear it took me a minute to recover. The jerkweed (yes....i know...its a word thing with me) hadn't been to do the admission, she hadnt even left her stinkin house!!! THREE hours later.

Now, I feel blessed to have that time with that lovely family. We laughed and talked about my little guy, shed some tears together....so I didn't mind at all.

The first thing she says to me when she shows up is..... "well you make sure you make them pay you for the three hours you worked".... WTH...I could give a crap about the 80 odd dollars they 'owe' me.....

ugh.....took everything i had to hug my family, whisper my goodbyes to the poor man..and not slap that idiot silly......what is WRONG with people...
    Julie
    Busy Mom to my one and only beautiful dd