FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Looking for a Fertility Doctor? 855-996-7283

jamie_n_g
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

mock transfer??

Hello,
    I'm new to all this, and I started the Orientation/IVF Consult this last week. I have a "mock tranfer" scheduled in April. How bad is this, and does it hurt? I'm wondering if I should schedule to take the day off from work.

Any advice would help. Thanks!

Jamie (26) DH (28)
    TTC 1.5yrs
    Left Hydro
    IVF scheduled 05/05

2. Advertisement

jcc
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Have you ever had an IUI? I just had a mock transfer to prepare for my first IVF cycle in May. It felt just like an IUI which was some cramping during the procedure and about 1/2 hour later. After that, I just felt a little bit of tenderness but could go on with my day. Good luck !
    Me 34 DH 37
    Mom to Jordyn Trinity & Jacob David - 1/20/2006

chelby
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Jaime,
    I just had a trial transfer 2 days ago w/ a new RE and I hardly felt a thing!! It was done in less than 5 minutes. But I think it really depends how small of a cathedar your RE uses and how your cervix is shaped at that moment (time of the month etc) and I also think it depends on your RE.

My actual transfer for my first IVF with my old RE was really stressful and painful (major cramping) because he had such a difficultly with getting the cathedar through my cervix (he said it was S shaped), it took him 3 tries and about half an hour to get it through. I think that was part of the reason why that cycle didn't work...too much trauma! I was even thinking of doing ZIFT next cycle because it was so bad.

My hysteroscopy procedure with this old RE was also very painful because he again had a hard time getting through my cervix, where my new RE also just did a hysteroscopy and got through my cervix so effortlessly, I was in disbelief!