FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Looking for a Fertility Doctor? 855-996-7283

Still Trying123
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like

5 day Blast transfer is day 4 too soon?

Hi,

I am new here but I am a veteran IVFer. I have just completed my 5th cycle with PGD and I am in need of some advice.

I transfered 3 'normal' embryos on Monday. This was a 5 day blast cycle. I went in this morning (Thurs. Day4) and asked them for a pg test. They said it was negative but that it was too soon to do a test. I don't believe them. I know that a 5 day blast transfer...would attach within 48 hours. Wouldn't there be even just a miniscule HCG reading if it were a successful cycle?

If you have an answer, please let me know.

Thanks so much....

2. Advertisement

KarenS-MI
    has no status.
    Board Coordinator
    Post Thanks / Like
    My Mood
    Angelic
    Well, first of all, it was ridiculous for them to even oblige you on your request for doing a beta!! Shame on them!! When you do a 5dt, implantation occurs between 2-4 days, so no, implantation does NOT occur within 48 hours. It CAN, but it's not the rule & it can take an extra 2 days!! So it's entirely possible that your little ones are JUST now settling in!!! And really, you're only 3dpt, not 4!! Which makes your RE even more crazy for testing for you!! I'm sorry, I hope I don't sound harsh, but that was more than wrong for them to do the test when there is simply NO way possible that you'd get a positive beta at just 3dp5dt!!!!! Not possible!! BTW,did they do a beta or have you do a urine pg test? Not that it really matters, because it was crazy early to even entertain the idea of testing this early!