FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Looking for a Fertility Doctor? 855-996-7283

nithu
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like

hair loss in early pregnancy

Hello ladies - i am almost 7 weeks pregnant. I've been having a lot of hair loss (atleast 80 strands or so per day...yes i actually sat and counted)in the past month or so...I did an IVF this time. Initially I thought the hormonal shots are doing this, but now I am not sure why this is happening.
    I've only heard that hair grows at a faster rate during pregnancy. Has anybody else experienced this? Does hair fall stop after 1st trimester?
    thanks

2. Advertisement

Lasbi
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mmmh. I'm not an expert but once my dermatologist told me that to be consider hair loss you have to be able to pull hair all the time, like a bunch of hair every time you pull on your hair (KWIM?) 80 hairs a day doesn't sound like a lot to me, but again, I'm not an expert. Something that can cause hair loss is a thyroid imbalance. May be you can talk to your Dr about checking your thyroid but I'm sure you are fine.

Sarah26
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like
    I agree with the other post - ask your dr about running some basic thyroid tests. I think mine did a test for TSH, but it could be that's so basic that all dr's do it. I have a friend with a past thyroid problem who had to take additional thyroid supplement each time she was pg.