FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Looking for a Fertility Doctor? 855-996-7283

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Kim C
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

How important is a tetanus shot after injury?

I don't believe I've had a tetanus shot since '92. Late last week I got cut on a rusty metal curtain rod. It took a huge chunk out of the skin on my finger. I keep having people tell me I should go get a tetanus shot - but don't want to look silly going to my dr for a cut that is healing nicely & doesn't need stitches...but just wondered what exactly can happen if I don't get the shot right away?

Thanks for any info - I'm researching the net, too.
    Kim C. ~~S (13), L (16), & L (18)
    TTC for 8 yrs. after Tubal Reversal
    IVF cycle #1 - 4/2010 - m/c
    Hoping for a miracle!

2. Advertisement

AMF
    thinks Molly's status is a hoot!
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    My Mood
    Amused
    I am no expert on the subject, but had a lesson recently in Tetnus 101...

If you had one in 92 and not since, then you are no longer considered 'covererd'...you need a booster every ten years or after every 'incident'.

Looks like you are due for a booster anyway!

Good luck

Kim C
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Okay - another question - what if you are so terribly forgetful, that you have had one in the last 10 yrs but can't remember. If I get another, can it hurt me instead of help me?
    Kim C. ~~S (13), L (16), & L (18)
    TTC for 8 yrs. after Tubal Reversal
    IVF cycle #1 - 4/2010 - m/c
    Hoping for a miracle!

TracyinMN
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    My Mood
    Sleepy