FertileThoughts.com - Infertility, adoption, pregnancy and parenting discussions
Looking for a Fertility Doctor? 855-491-2833

Tia38
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like

Metformin + South Beach? Anyone doing both?

Hi All,
    I'm new to IF (well, at least officially -- I've suspected for quite some time), and new to these boards. Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere....

I'll be starting Metformin later this week. I've read and been told about its various side effects.

My question -- if I start South Beach at the same time is it a good or bad idea? Might it make the side effects (bathroom issues in particular) worse? I think both South Beach (initial Phase I during the 2 week strict part) and Metformin are both trying to deal with insulin resistance.

Is anyone out there doing BOTH the South Beach diet and Metformin? Any suggestions? Any pitfalls? Should I get through Phase I before starting the Metformin?

Cheers,
    -Tia

2. Advertisement

mshaw16
    has no status.
    Post Thanks / Like

Well you may expect

this may be TMI but diareaha (sp) when I first started metformin it did it to me pretty bad, but now i've lowerd my carbs and sugar and take metformin and its not so bad, but with metformin and carbs I'd have to run to the RR! But good luck with that!
    Melissa

Denise27
    has no status.
    Board Coordinator
    Post Thanks / Like
    Tia

I dont know much about metaformin. But phase 1 of south beach can cause consitpation. So one might dismiss the other. On SB were suppose to take fibercon. You may not want to do that till you see how the metaformin reacts.

Good Luck.
    Denise

~*~I love being married. It's so great to find that one special person
    you want to annoy for the rest of your life~*~

gardenerkim
    has no status.

Post Thanks / Like